Professional Web Applications Themes

A filter or effect to give "roughed up" look on apparel??? - Adobe Illustrator Macintosh

I am a designer for an apparel screenprinting company and recently many of the clients have wanted their logos or prints to have a "roughed up", weathered", or "old" look. Does anybody know if there is a way to get this look from Illustrator 9? Thanks!...

Default A filter or effect to give "roughed up" look on apparel???

I am a designer for an apparel screenprinting company and recently many of the clients have wanted their logos or prints to have a "roughed up", weathered", or "old" look. Does anybody know if there is a way to get this look from Illustrator 9?

Thanks!
    M_Jensen@adobeforums.com Guest

Default Re: A filter or effect to give "roughed up" look on apparel???

Rasterize it. :D
    nilk_narf@adobeforums.com Guest

OK, I tried to rasterize this particular image, but it just makes it bitmapped. Do you have any suggestions for settings to use in rasterizing to give that random rough look?

I'm sorry. I was just kidding. It's just that rasterizing always roughens up my illustrations. You will get some excellent advice from some real pros shortly. :)

oh man, I feel like a total idiot. . . . .I am just SOOO glad you were kidding. If you could have only seen me trying to rasterize at different dpi's. DUH!

:( I feel guilty. I'm sorry.

At least somebody replied!!!

:)

Select your objects and go to Effect - Distort & Transform - Roughen. Play around wih the controls there a bit, especially at the low end (1% or so).
    Gary_Newman@adobeforums.com Guest