Professional Web Applications Themes

Edit Text Question. - Adobe Illustrator Windows

I am VERY new to Adobe Illustrator (Illustrator 10), i had a very quick lesson from a friend and he told me that when i send files to others ive gotta do >Select-All >Type-Create Outlines and then save and send. I did this, now i can't edit my text anymore! I was wondering how i can either un-do this or how i can edit my text again, because i wasn't done with what i am working on! Thanks so much, Jess...

Default Edit Text Question.

I am VERY new to Adobe Illustrator (Illustrator 10), i had a very quick lesson from a friend and he told me that when i send files to others ive gotta do >Select-All >Type-Create Outlines and then save and send. I did this, now i can't edit my text anymore! I was wondering how i can either un-do this or how i can edit my text again, because i wasn't done with what i am working on!

Thanks so much,
    Jess
    Jessica_McCool@adobeforums.com Guest

Default Re: Edit Text Question.

Jess,

i had a very quick lesson from a friend...

You owe your friend a very quick electrocution.

Converting type to outlines (paths) can prevent font-related problems once the file is out of your hands, but the bad news is that it's a one-way street.

Always keep a working copy of your file with live text intact.

=-= Harron =-=
    Harron_K._Appleman@adobeforums.com Guest

ggrreeeaaatttt. Now what do i do? If i delete ALL of the text off of the file can i re-do it? This is a label for a beverage company... this is a huge deal.

Should i do the outlines for my final draft before i send it to the package producers or should i not do it at all?

Sorry for my questions, i've been thrown into this program with no help at all and nobody around to ask. Thanks for your help.

Jessica

If i delete ALL of the text off of the file can i re-do it?

Of course you can.

Should i do the outlines for my final draft before i send it to the package