There was a similar post on this issue but it did not answer my question.
One of the sites I manage is updated using Contribute. Recently when the user
tries to publish a page it save it as: filename.htm.new and filename.htm.old -
no filename.htm

I set myself up with a user account but it does not do that to me. The
filename.htm.new has the changes and I now have to rename it and upload it
manually.

What is causing this and how can it be repaired?