Professional Web Applications Themes

LoadMovie vs goto Scene - Macromedia Flash Sitedesign

Hi, all. I'm pretty new to Flash, using MX. Please help me understand loading movies as opposed to loading scenes. I understand that they are both on-demand schemes, allowing the viewer to see what they want, which can bypass the need for a preloader. However, if you split a file into many swfs to load in, doesn't the viewer still have to wait for it to load (if it's so large)? With a scene, isn't the same true? I know how to perform both, but do not know the true benefits of either. Please help, understanding that I'm new at ...

Default LoadMovie vs goto Scene

Hi, all.
    I'm pretty new to Flash, using MX. Please help me understand loading movies as opposed to loading scenes.

I understand that they are both on-demand schemes, allowing the viewer to see what they want, which can bypass the need for a preloader. However, if you split a file into many swfs to load in, doesn't the viewer still have to wait for it to load (if it's so large)? With a scene, isn't the same true?

I know how to perform both, but do not know the true benefits of either.

Please help, understanding that I'm new at this game.

Thanks,
    Scott

downloadthisthing webforumsuser@macromedia.com Guest

Default Re: LoadMovie vs goto Scene

hi scott, i'm from brazil (my english is very bad) but you need understand that:

is normal that the loading be visible when is finishing, cause it needs be load too, then i always use a small movie animating or no, in the first frame of the scene saying "loading" with this action:

If Frame Is Loaded (principal, 100) (the scene of the pre-loader)
    Go to and Play (principal, 1)
    End Frame Loaded

bye

FernandoZanatta webforumsuser@macromedia.com Guest

Hi.
    I had a hard time understanding the instructions. i think you're telling me to use a preloader, but I'm not talking about a preloader. I need to know about loadmovie vs loadscenes.