Professional Web Applications Themes

Make entire SWF file a clickable link? - Adobe Flash, Flex & Director

Hello, I'm creating a banner for my web site and I'd like to make it so that you can simply click anywhere on the SWF file and be taken to the index page. I'm a beginner...as you've guessed from this question...and I've only found information about making buttons or particular elements in the movie as clickable links. Nothing about making the whole file clickable. Any pointers?...

Default Make entire SWF file a clickable link?

Hello,

I'm creating a banner for my web site and I'd like to make it so that you can simply click anywhere on the SWF file and be taken to the index page.

I'm a beginner...as you've guessed from this question...and I've only found information about making buttons or particular elements in the movie as clickable links. Nothing about making the whole file clickable.

Any pointers?

Zchildress webforumsuser@macromedia.com Guest

Default Re: Make entire SWF file a clickable link?

1. make a new layer at the top.
    2. In that layer, draw a rectangle that covers the entire stage and convert it to a movieclip.
    3. right-click the rectangle and choose actions. Add this actionscript:
    on(release){
    getURL("whatever.swf","_self"); // or gotoAndPlay(index); or whatever....
    }
    4. Close the actions window.
    5. select the rectangle and in the properties inspector, choose the color down arrow and select alpha....drag the alpha slider to make it 0.
    6. publish the movie and entice people to click on your highly annoying banner (just kidding).

pazzoboy webforumsuser@macromedia.com Guest

search forum for *invisible button* - very popular question.
    here's a link that will help:

[url]http://webforums.macromedia.com/flash/messageview.cfm?catid=196&threadid=692868[/url]

chris georgenes
    mudbubble.com
    Team Macromedia Volunteer for Flash
    search forum first - 90% of questions have been answered