Professional Web Applications Themes

Need Guidance, please - Adobe Indesign Windows

I have been given some book projects to be laid out for printing. The printshop requested the files be given to them in Quark. I refused. So, I'm now trying to learn InDesign, which was their second (begrudging) choice. It's been many years (close to a decade now) since I've used PageMaker, or Quark...and I've never used InDesign before at all. My book client bought the program for me to use for these (& future) book layouts, now I have to figure it out. (Hey, InDesign can't POSSIBLY be any harder to work with than Quark...I hope.) It has taken ...

Default Need Guidance, please

I have been given some book projects to be laid out for printing. The printshop requested the files be given to them in Quark. I refused. So, I'm now trying to learn InDesign, which was their second (begrudging) choice. It's been many years (close to a decade now) since I've used PageMaker, or Quark...and I've never used InDesign before at all. My book client bought the program for me to use for these (& future) book layouts, now I have to figure it out. (Hey, InDesign can't POSSIBLY be any harder to work with than Quark...I hope.)

It has taken me a few weeks of trial and error, but I've figured most things out that I need. However I've found some areas that I just don't understand, and cannot find answers for. I could probably call the printshop and ask, but they already weren't very happy with my refusal to send them Quark files, or to let them convert my PhotoShop files to Quark, so they aren't very forthcoming with useful info when I call now.

When the books are printed and bound they are 5.5 x 8.5, with color covers. There are 20 pages of black & white text and illustrations inside.

My questions are about the color covers.

1. Should the color covers be laid out as part of the whole book layout file, or should they be given to the printer in a separate "Color Cover" file?