Professional Web Applications Themes

Problem finding/deleting outlines, extra colors in AI file - Adobe Illustrator Windows

I'm using AI 11/CS. I am a novice, at best. Someone sent me a supposedly 2-color logo in EPS format (Conversions Plus says it's an AI 9 file). I opened it in AI CS to resave it so I'd have a preview (it was originally a Mac file, presumably with a PICT preview). I resaved as EPS, dropped it into my Quark file, and when I print separations I get 5 plates: cyan, process yellow, process black, Pantone 2935 CVC, and Pantone 369 CVC. (The two Pantones are the official logo colors.) Same thing happens if I print separations directly ...

Default Problem finding/deleting outlines, extra colors in AI file

I'm using AI 11/CS. I am a novice, at best.

Someone sent me a supposedly 2-color logo in EPS format (Conversions Plus says it's an AI 9 file). I opened it in AI CS to resave it so I'd have a preview (it was originally a Mac file, presumably with a PICT preview).

I resaved as EPS, dropped it into my Quark file, and when I print separations I get 5 plates: cyan, process yellow, process black, Pantone 2935 CVC, and Pantone 369 CVC. (The two Pantones are the official logo colors.) Same thing happens if I print separations directly from AI.

All that shows up on the process separations is a faint outline of one line of text in the logo.

I can't figure out how that outline is generated, or how to make it go away.

What's even more perplexing is that the AI file does not include the process yellow or cyan swatches. It does include two extra spot color swatches -- Pantone 2935 CVU and 369 CVU. The 2935 CVU is shown as unused, so I was able to just delete it. The 369 CVU is apparently separating into the black, yellow, and cyan seps.

But I can't figure out what elements in the logo are 369 CVU.