I don't know what caused it but when ever I drag something to the trash
can I get a window that says this will delete this file immediately, is
that what you want. I get the same such warning if I select a file and
then select move to trash. How can I get back to just putting files in
the trash and still having the option of taking them out again later?

thanks,

jj