Professional Web Applications Themes

Uninstalling Contribute 3.11 - Macromedia Contribute General Discussion

I am having issues uninstalling Contribute. The program uninstalls correctly, but there are lingering issues when installing the program again to the same machine. 1) If the Contribute connections are not removed prior to uninstalling Contribute, those connections will be in place when Contribute is installed again on that machine. 2) If the following folders are not removed before reinstalling Contribute on that machine, Contribute will not require an activation key when started for the first time after installation: c:\Doents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Macromedia\Licensing\Licenses\Contribute 3.0 c:\Doents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Macromedia\Licensing\Products\Contribute 3.0 I tried renaming those folders Contribute 3.11, but the ...

  1. #1

    Default Uninstalling Contribute 3.11

    I am having issues uninstalling Contribute.

    The program uninstalls correctly, but there are lingering issues when
    installing the program again to the same machine.

    1) If the Contribute connections are not removed prior to uninstalling
    Contribute, those connections will be in place when Contribute is installed
    again on that machine.

    2) If the following folders are not removed before reinstalling Contribute on
    that machine, Contribute will not require an activation key when started for
    the first time after installation:

    c:\Doents and Settings\All Users\Application
    Data\Macromedia\Licensing\Licenses\Contribute 3.0

    c:\Doents and Settings\All Users\Application
    Data\Macromedia\Licensing\Products\Contribute 3.0

    I tried renaming those folders Contribute 3.11, but the uninstallation process
    still will not remove them or items in them. In addition (and this is not a
    surprise), when those folders are renamed Contribute will not start properly.

    Are these known issues? Either way, can be something be done to address them?


    RoseyGren Guest

  2. #2

    Default Re: Uninstalling Contribute 3.11

    I emailed support with this question, and I got this as part of the response:

    "While uninstalling Contribute 3.11, it prompts the user whether to retain the
    drafts and the preferences or not. If the user decides not to remove the
    preferences and drafts then the connections from the previous installation will
    remain after re-installing Contribute."

    I have yet to see this screen when uninstalling Contribute. I am not asked if
    I would like to retain preferences.

    Has anyone else had this problem? I am using 3.11.

    RoseyGren Guest

Similar Threads

  1. Uninstalling Contribute
    By wine4231 in forum Macromedia Contribute General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 4th, 04:27 AM
  2. Uninstalling Contribute 3 using a script (in Altiris)
    By carson_q in forum Macromedia Contribute Connection Administrtion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 20th, 03:32 PM
  3. 'uninstalling' contribute
    By jp72 in forum Macromedia Contribute Connection Administrtion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 9th, 07:45 PM
  4. Uninstalling Contribute 3
    By JJLynch in forum Macromedia Contribute General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 27th, 09:25 PM
  5. Uninstalling Contribute problem
    By ken57 in forum Macromedia Contribute General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: May 25th, 09:55 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139