Professional Web Applications Themes

Will Indesign CS output in XHTML to...Dreamweaver, for example? - Adobe Indesign Windows

My apologies if this is a basic question. I am just learning HTML and XHTML and have a copy of Indesign. When I learned I could not export my print doents in HTML format, the news came as a disappointment. Any ideas? I have Dreamweaver, but not GoLive. Thank you....

Default Will Indesign CS output in XHTML to...Dreamweaver, for example?

My apologies if this is a basic question. I am just learning HTML and XHTML and have a copy of Indesign. When I learned I could not export my print doents in HTML format, the news came as a disappointment. Any ideas? I have Dreamweaver, but not GoLive.

Thank you.
    ewthompson@adobeforums.com Guest

Default Re: Will Indesign CS output in XHTMLto...Dreamweaver, for example?

Think I may have answered my own question..I found out it outputs to XML. However, can formatting be maintained? Help was a bit ambiguous as the 'output to xml' section prefaced with (approximately) "when doents are output to XML, only the tags are maintained and all formatting is lost', then proceeded to go into how to maintain formatting. (?)

Pls advise.

XML export will capture the tagged content of your doent but not layout information, such as page position of frames etc. If you're trying to te the look of your layout you'd be better served by PDF rather than HTML.

Phil Redman
    pjredman@adobeforums.com Guest

Phil, thank you for the feed back. My hope is to do just what you described, with minor modifications. You are suggesting I make my entire site a series of PDF docs (one PDF for each page of the printed magazine)? If that is the only feasible option, I will do so however I am not aware of any sites which currently use that particular formatting. Seems like I should have picked up the prior version of Indesign, where I understand HTML exporting was supported.